What Was Katy Moakley’s First Job?

School: Arizona State University-Barrett Honors College

Hometown: Phoenix, AZ

Major: Speech and Hearing Science

GPA: 3.98

Katy Moakley’s first job was lifeguarding for Arizona Grand Resort. We guess Katy was just born to be around the pool!

Why did you want to be a 12 girl?
I wanted to be a 12 girl because I think it is a great opportunity to represent ASU’s population. Some people have misconceptions about ASU – we can prove that there are smart, motivated and unique students attending Arizona State. They also just happen to look great in a bikini as well!

What do you want to be when you grow up, how will being a 12 help?
After I earn my Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees, I want to be a Speech-Language Pathologist. I hope being a 12 will help to introduce me to many people who could serve as good networking for a future career. In just the first few weeks since joining Tempe 12, I have already met amazing people of all careers and backgrounds both affiliated with the company.

Tell us something that people wouldn’t expect from just looking at you?
I am very neurotic. I have to check all my doors twice to make sure they are locked before I can leave the house. I don’t feel safe unless I do.

Favorite place on campus?
My favorite place on campus is the area right in front of the MU. You never know what will be going on out there. There are a lot of performances, organizations, and occasionally very “different” people I wouldn’t want to miss. It’s a great place to people watch. Everyday there is someone else on the stage performing.

What’s your major and how did you decide on that?
My major is Speech and Hearing Science. I decided on that because my roommate freshman year had that degree, and my current degree required calculus. That wasn’t working out for me. Speech and Hearing Science is a perfect mix of science and math classes coupled with language and linguistics classes.

Best trip you have ever taken?
After my sophomore year of college, I studied abroad with Barrett. Over the summer, I was in Greece for two weeks and Italy for three. It was amazing! My only regret is that I didn’t go to Paris when I was a train ride away, not a fourteen-hour flight. I would love to go back someday.

How have things changed since you became a 12?

The biggest thing that has changed for me is the emphasis on health in my life. Between meeting with a personal trainer four times a week and eating delicious but healthy food, I feel like a new girl.

Favorite college memory?

My favorite college memory is living in the dorms freshman year. I lived in Barrett, and I met some of my best friends there. It was so exciting to live on my own for the first time, and the dorms are the best way to start college. You meet so many different people and you get to hangout with people with the same major so its easy to ask for help.

What do you look for in a guy?
I think the biggest thing I would look for in a guy is honesty. This is a close tie with communication. Without those two, a good relationship is impossible. You need to be able to express your feelings to each other.

Tell us about your best and worst date?

I think a good date can be any activity. I personally love going out to dinner for a date. That gives you the opportunity to really get to know someone while having a good time. The worst date I have ever been on, the guy tried to impress me the whole time with his car, money, etc. As Shania Twain says, “that don’t impress me much.”

Why did you decide on ASU?

I decided on ASU because I wanted to stay relatively close to home. I grew up in Ahwatukee and I’ve always loved it in Arizona. I only applied to ASU and Barrett, and then I was satisfied. I always think ASU is what you make of it; if you want to work hard and take it seriously, you can get a great education. It is college though, you can’t forget to have fun.

Tell us about where you grew up?

I grew up in Phoenix, specifically Ahwatukee. Despite the extreme heat, I’ve always loved Arizona. Guess that’s why I was destined to be a Sun Devil! I love that my family is so close to me and I can go home whenever I want. Everyone gets homesick every now and then.

What’s one item you can’t live without and why?

The one material thing I can’t live without is my iPhone. It does everything for me! I’d be literally lost without the GPS function, and there’s no better way to settle a debate than to Google it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *